Turn the lights out

Do you ever practice in the dark? You should give it a go sometime, if you haven’t yet. It focuses your ear on the sounds you’re making to an extent you wouldn’t expect. And, more importantly if you’re feeling self-indulgent, like I am, it lets you enjoy the music so much more.

It was too late tonight for me to really get anything else done, but I did want to play a little more. So I took the one piece I could never do without, turned out the lights, and worked on that legato. Recuerdos de la Alhambra in the dark. Slowly, at first, listening to everything that tremolo has to tell, then fast even though I had planned not to – because hey, how could I not?

Like anything intimately sublime – great food, lovely wine, a kiss – it lingers on in thought and consciousness long after it’s done. Tired, practiced out, and content as I am, I’m primed for more, my energies are refreshed, and I can’t wait to get up and practice tomorrow!

I should do this more often.

Leave a comment